SECOND FPR – O’GRADY’S PREMIUM SAUSAGE AND MUSHROOM

Standard

Well well well, have I got a doozy for you this week. The pie we’re working with tonight was gifted to me by fellow FPE (frozen pizza enthusiast) Alexander J. Martin. When I laid my eyes on this beauty I knew the tides of mouth-feel had turned. The O’grady pizza brand is a newcomer to the FP market, and I am more than anxious to give this Wisconsin based FPM (frozen pizza manufacturer) a chance.  

Data provided on PL (pizza label):

  • suggested cook time 12-18 minutes (Wide range there O’grady)
  • $5.99 (Free 99 4 me though)
  • 25.5 ounces
  • 1750 Calories/FP
  • deliverables: 292 Cal/$, 4.3 oz/$

Very sturdy FP.

FP review:

Appearance: Great looking FP before it was put in the oven, even better looking when it came out. The three cheese blend caramelized evenly along the outer edge of the pie, while the middle remained its natural stil de grain yellow hue. The pork sausage glistened in the inefficient incandescent light, and the mushrooms looked ok. Very good looking FP.

2014-02-23 19.30.14

Nose: I have a cold…

Mouth-feel: Rich gooey cheese blend of mozzarella provolone and cheddar. Required at least 7 chews to break up into swallow-able cheese morsels. The Italian pork sausage crumbled nicely. The crust was flaky and the sauce provided ample moisture for each bite to be a rewarding experience. My only complaint in this area was that the mushrooms were definitely of the canned variety. They were slimey where i wished they provided more texture to the pie to add some variety.

Overall: Now this is a great FP. I will definitely be purchasing some O’grady’s in the future. I ate 3/4 of the pie by myself without much of a struggle. Decidedly filling, absolutely zesty.

Ratings:

Value: 77/100 – A little pricey for a frozen pizza, but contributed more than enough nourishment for a meal+.

Taste: 88/100 – I really enjoyed the spice of the sausage paired with the richness of the cheese

Aura: 93/100 – looked like a pie, smelled like an FP, tasted like a dream.

Mouth-feel: 86/100 – again, only gripe here was the mushy mushrooms.

Overall: 89/100 A/B

Suggested background music: Pizza love

Suggested wine pairing: Hartford 2007 Highwire Vineyard Zinfandel

Come back next week for another wonderful FPR. I hope all of your weeks go as well as this FP tasted.

One thought on “SECOND FPR – O’GRADY’S PREMIUM SAUSAGE AND MUSHROOM

  1. mequin sheeps

    I enjoyed this review and find it very helpful I was contemplating buying one of these the other day but opted not too. NOW I FORSURE WILL BUY ONE…… maybe 2 😉

Leave a comment