NINTH FPR – LUIGE’S LITTLE ITALY DELUXE PIZZA

Standard

I saw this FP down the street at a local FP$, The Triangle Market. I have never seen this FP anywhere else, and I can’t really find anything out about the FPM online (Luige’s frozen pizza, Belgium, WI). I found one Yelp review and an address for the company that doesn’t even have streetview (this is as close as you can get) Something smells fishy, but we will leave that for “nose”.

  • suggested cook time 10-15 minutes
  • $3.99
  • 18 ounces
  • 1600 Cal/FP
  • Pretty good numbers: 401 Cal/$, 4.5 oz/$

One interesting figure to note, is the number of “servings” in this pie. It’s a standard sized FP, which your average FPE could take down comfortably unaccompanied. However, Luige’s suggests that one of these has 10 servings. Just another strand of deception in the web of lies spun by “Luige”.

FP Review:

Appearance:

I tore into this FP before Alan got a picture of the FPP with its contents intact. Here’s what it looks like empty:

photo1(2)

Really not a lot going on. Red white and green color scheme. Pretty standard. Simple is ok.

Nothing notable, plastic wrapped FP. This FP was cooked on the Pizzazz as is shown below:

So many different kinds of toppings. I wonder which is the saltiest

So many different kinds of toppings. I wonder which is the saltiest

The pizza did not look the greatest.

photo3(2)

Pepperoni, black olives, sausage, green peppers, onions and mushroom.

Decent topping distribution. Can only really see one slice of mushroom on the pie. Maybe there’s some other mushroom debris scattered around, but it seems negligible. Guess they ran out.

Definitely not a great looking pie. Pretty sad. Nothing on the FP looks appetizing. It looks like a week old roller dog. Except it’s a pizza.

Nose:

Fishy

But really, it smells like thawed frozen vegetables (probably the green peppers). The meats don’t give off any real scent. Dull as dishwater and twice as many frozen pepper esters.

Mouth-feel:

I could tell I was in for a workout after my first bite. Very chewy. The crust has almost no crunch, even the cornicione. The toppings were equally spongy, and saltier than ramen noodles. Actually, if you eat this whole pizza (which I did), more than 3 grams of sodium is sliding down your gullet. That’s a salty gullet. This crazy level of salinity, paired with the gummy crust and spotty sauce coverage led to many trips to the sink to fill up my water glass. Really unpleasant.

Overall:

Well, I guess I know why I’ve never heard of this pizza outside of one corner store. I also don’t know why they chose to spell Luigi “Luige”. Maybe they are as bad at spelling/playing Nintendo games as they are at making frozen pizzas. Anyway, not good.

Ratings:

Value: 88/100 – Highest numbers ever here. Hesitant to give it higher than the high 80’s though, on account of the ingredients feeling very cheap.

Taste: 66/100 – Salty.

Aura: 70/100 – Not a terrible feeling. somewhat negative.

Mouth-feel: 53/100 – Incredibly chewy. Not the good kind of incredible. I guess the bad kind of incredible.

Overall: 69/100 – D+ They do not give out many of those

I hope you have at least one slice of pizza this week. I hope it is a good slice.

 

3 thoughts on “NINTH FPR – LUIGE’S LITTLE ITALY DELUXE PIZZA

  1. Disappointing that a FP with such great numbers turns out to be so disappointing. And if this is the kind of work that merits 69/100, I shudder to think about FPs that achieve sub-50 overall scores.

  2. John Sharpe

    Tried a Luige’s Big Daddy a few days ago and I thought it was superb. The sauce is the difference. I think it was first created in a bar (Belgium, WI), like most better, small production zahs. BTW, outstanding site.

  3. John Montag

    Luige’s is INDEED a real manufacturer. In fact, the factory is about 20 minutes from my home. I did a lot of business with them when I was in the foodservice industry. The Little Italy pizza was designed as the “low cost” pizza for schools & institutional settings. That’s probably why it states it serves 10, Luige’s “normal” retail pizzas are actually quite good compared to most out there. I’m not a big FP guy, but I’d choose Luige’s over most any other.

Leave a comment